Glory

Golden Globe for Best Original Song was presented to Common and John Legend for their collaboration “Glory” from the movie Selma.

Common’s acceptance speech referencing civil rights, protests against police brutality, and racial injustice that was this award’s show focal point. As he accepted his Golden Globe, Common stated:

“The first day I stepped on the set of Selma, I began to feel like this was bigger than a movie. As I got to know the people of the Civil Rights Movement, I realized I am the hopeful black woman who was denied her right to vote. I am the caring white supporter who was killed on the front lines of freedom. I am the unarmed black kid who maybe needed a hand but instead was given a bullet. I am the two fallen police officers, murdered in the line of duty. ‘Selma’ has awakened my humanity.”

Leave a Reply

