She Doesn’t Consider Herself Black? Model from “The Face” Gets Criticism from All Over

044cthe-face1Leave it to Wendy Williams to ask the hard questions that get everyone talking. Wendy Williams recently asked Devyn, a participant on “The Face,” a modeling show on Oxygen, if it was hard for her to be a black girl model. The response got the Internet buzzing, making the public wonder what kind of woman they might be supporting. Here’s how the exchange went down.

Wendy: Is it hard to be a black girl model?

Devyn: I don’t really consider myself to be a black girl model. I mean, I know what my ethnicity is, but I’m fair-skinned and I feel like I have an international look.

Wendy: So you don’t feel black.

Devyn: No, that’s not what I said, whatsoever.

Naomi Campbell had a lot to say at that moment, saying that the woman is a “disgrace” for her remarks.

I am with Naomi totally. This is a problem that hardly every gets any light shed as to some black women have been taught to think black is not beautiful. Well, to Miss Devyn Abdullah, you’re lost and I feel sorry for you. It’s sad that your in a place where so many black women would love to be and you have shown to be a negative representation of blackness.

We need stong black women who know their worth, know their beauty and is able to teach our your ones not to be ashamed of who they are. Hopefully after all the controversy with Devyn’s statement, she will pick up a black history book, read and change her way of thinking.

One thought on “She Doesn’t Consider Herself Black? Model from “The Face” Gets Criticism from All Over

  1. I remember when I first heard about this story. She sounded like she was having an identity issue that is common here in Brazil. In a sense, I understand her desire to not be pigeon-holed as a “black model”, and rather just be known as a “model”. This is the case for anyone of obvious African descent who wants to have access to mainstream acceptability. It happens in music, film, the corporate world, the media…EVERYWHERE! This is what Prince tried to do in PURPLE RAIN when he cast a white woman as his mother when he has two black parents in real life. Again, I understand what she meant, but it won’t matter in the end. In Brazil, people prefer to be called “morenas” but at the time of discriminatory practices, it won’t matter; they’ll/she’ll be black regardless.

Leave a Reply

